Delightful Danish Design: An Exploration

Design has always been an interest of mine. From middle school when I was sure I was going to be the next big fashion designer on Project Runway, to my current major of Communications Design. So when thinking about studying abroad, I was excited that Copenhagen was such a center for design. But what is “design”? The term can encompass so much and it can make it hard to wrap your head around the concept of “Danish design” as well.

The Merriam Webster dictionary defines design: “to create, fashion, execute, or construct according to plan.” But to me, and many others, design is more than this. My favorite explanation has come from the University of Illinois at Chicago: Design is about progress. It is the conceptualization and creation of new things: ideas, interactions, information, objects, typefaces, books, posters, products, places, signs, systems, services, furniture, websites, and more. This idea gives design a much more tangible feeling and ability to grasp the concept. We rarely think of the design of many of the objects we use each day: the pen we write with, the coffee pot we use, even the street signs that guide our way. This semester I have been lucky enough to see exemplary design from a new angle.
Scandinavia is known for its minimalist and functional design. Denmark, especially, is famous for their love of furniture design (chairs) and lighting (lamps). Danish homes are full of beautiful things that are intentional and simple. While I was unable to take a design class (if anyone from Elon is reading this please give credit for design classes in the future, thanks) I was able to soak in some Danish design vibes and knowledge.
Early on in the semester my Communications class visited a Danish firm Kontrapunkt, that does branding and typography for both Danish and international clients. Their clients include Lego, IKEA, the Danish Department of Transportation, and various banks, pharmacies and companies all over the world. Their office was such a joy to visit because as we walked through I could see people working on creating new typefaces and logos. They walked us through their process of creating a brand and image for each client and how they pitch their ideas to new clients. This visit sparked some thoughts for me. I started to notice the array of typefaces that surround us and how they interact with brand identities and the products we buy. Just on the bus ride home, I watched as store after store created a distinct feel with just their name above the marquee.
Later in the semester, the same class visited a packaging design firm in Ireland. We talked to the owner of the firm about the design process for various labels and packaging they had done. The intention that goes into every decision on the label was so important and had huge impacts on the final product. I hadn’t experienced this level of scrutiny around a label before and began to notice the smaller details on the products that I buy in stores. It was really cool to compare the two different agencies that we visited and their differing design processes.
Finally, I’ve been reading and looking more into the design culture in Denmark on my own. The Danes love their designer chairs and lamps, which is exemplified by the wall decorations in our apartment: graphic posters of designer chairs and a poster dedicated entirely to the best Danish lamps. But Danish design goes farther than these two categories. A huge tenant to Danish design ideology is the intention and functionality of the objects that you use in your home or environment. Even the smallest decorated room has intentional items, from the furniture, to the kitchen appliances, to the stylish candle holders. I learned more about the evolution of Danish design with a visit (or maybe three) to the Design Museum of Denmark. This museum is free for those under 26 or with student ID so I have returned a couple of times. The museum shows the progression of industrial design, typography & graphics, fashion and of course, furniture design. I feel like I learn something new with each visit and it is a miracle that I haven’t bought the entire gift shop.
With a lot of free time this past week (Thanks DIS for only one final), I dedicated some time to exploring some of the more famous Danish design concept stores in Copenhagen. I started with a stop for coffee at Forloren Espresso, then a bit of a refresher at the Design Museum. My first store was HAY House which is on the second and third floor above a café, looking out onto the Strøget plaza. The store is set up as if you were in an apartment, albeit one with multiple living rooms. Every little detail was perfectly executed and well rounded. The stairs in the middle of the store led to a second floor with more beautiful couches, desks, and even a bedroom section. My favorite part (and the most tempting) was the HAY Mini Market that was full of office supplies and little trinkets. Before this semester I had no idea that you could have designer scissors, but now I know I might need a pair! After ogling every office supply possible in beautiful shining colors, I pulled myself away to the next stop.

I made my way to Vesterbro to my next two stores, which are right next to each other. The first is Playtype: a type foundry from a competitor to Kontrapunkt- eTypes. All of their products have strong colors and bold type on the cover of chic notebooks, or pads of paper. They also have various mug collections. I have been in search of the Feminist mug from the Attitude collection, but it has unfortunately been sold out for months now. Next door to Playtype is DORA, which is a laid back, eclectic mix of items. They have a lot more home items like candles, or rugs and pillows. I loved their little trinkets and since it’s the holiday season, they had beautiful ornaments.

My last stop for this day was further up Vesterbrograde and one of my favorite stores. Designer Zoo was all lit up with Christmas lights on the front which was welcoming and beautiful. Inside was a wonderful collection of numerous Danish ceramicist’s work. Danes have a huge love for ceramics and beautiful bowls and mugs. Something I have been confused by though, is the abundance of small bowls or cups that are about the size of a shot glass. While some are obviously espresso cups, others seem too small for anything other than looking nice. I am still unsure what half of the beautifully crafted tiny bowls are intended for. The first floor of Designer Zoo was full of amazing ceramics and careful jewelry. Downstairs, there was a ton of bean-shaped tables that were made in a studio on site. The studio door was glass so I got to have a peek in to watch them making these simple tables, ranging from tiny stool size to a whole dining room set. After my first design store day I was impressed by the attention to details and amount of small objects that I really wanted but didn’t need at all.

My second design day was to Norrebro, where I started the day at the original Coffee Collective location on Jægersborggade. This street was full of shops and pastries. I enjoyed just wandering in to browse the tiny cups, or silky dresses hanging on the racks. My favorite store on this street was PALERMO Hollywood, a home goods and book store full of bright color and personality. In Norrebro, I visited many vintage and second-hand clothing shops, like the Acne Archives, that had beautiful yet extraordinarily expensive clothes. My last stop was over in Osterbro: the Normann Copenhagen flagship store. The store is futuristic, with reflective metallic walls, and showcases the wide reach of Normann’s designs. They have everything from furniture, to kitchen supplies to notebooks and even blankets. Everything is sleek and fits with the colors of its collection. I spent at least a half hour agonizing over what overpriced office supply I should buy. I finally decided on a pen for its functionality and the color scheme matches my planner.

After many days of design concept stores and a semester of observation, I feel well versed in Danish design ideas in practice. They emphasize functionality but with a sleek, minimalist look in soft color tones. I hope to try to incorporate Danish design ideals into my own apartment’s decorations this upcoming semester. I am excited to continue to learn more about design back at school with my classes this spring and to continue to observe the design around me every day.

Leave a comment