Homecoming: Back to the USA

I am writing this post from my couch at home in Oakland, enjoying the fact that it is over 50 degrees outside and that I get a bathroom all to myself. I have been readjusting to being home, just as I do after the end of every semester, but the jet lag is worse. Of course, I have already indulged in the luxuries of being back in Oakland- my favorite Chinese food and pizza places, the ability to drive, and not having to worry about time differences when trying to get in touch with people. I already attended a holiday party in which I answered the typical home from college questions about my semester and studies and future thoughts. Only this time I got to tie in a bit of my recent travels to spice up my standard answers to boring questions (sorry to everyone who will inevitably ask me these same questions- we all know how it goes).

When asked about my semester I immediately respond with a positive “Fun! It was great! I loved Copenhagen.” This answer is totally true, but as with any momentous trip or experience, it doesn’t capture the whole thing. I did so many different trips, excursions, and had tons of smaller moments that were distinct to my time in Copenhagen and around Europe. Describing a four-month experience in one sentence, without losing the authenticity of my time there, is inherently difficult. This is a struggle I have had after every major excursion I have ever done: being an exchange student in South Africa, a month-long backpacking trip, going to college, etc. To those reading this who will see me or any student returning from studying abroad, I challenge you to ask a question deeper than “How was it?” Ask about highlights, or low points, or lessons learned. You will enjoy the answer more and maybe actually learn about my experience deeper than the surface level. And if you don’t want to know more, I understand, but know I always have more to tell if you are willing to ask.

This year has been one of fast change, as I was constantly moving, traveling and transitioning from one place to the next. While this gave me ample opportunity for exploration and excitement, it has also been stressful. I am tired of packing and repacking bags only to have to pack up again. After a year of travel and transition, I am excited to put down roots even if just for the spring semester. As I prepare to return to Elon, I hope to bring back some of what I have learned this semester with me:

  • A sense of curiosity about the world around me
  • The confidence to know that I can handle most anything thrown my way
  • The ability to cherish the smaller, fleeting moments in any day

I do not expect to learn all the lessons from this semester right away. In my experience, you do not realize how much a trip can influence you all at once. It comes to you in bits and pieces along the way. I am still learning and applying lessons from my backpacking trip in high school that I completed almost four years ago. This semester has been a roller coaster of new cultures, languages and places with me attempting to steer the ride. I am so thankful to have had this opportunity to see so many countries and encounter new perspectives. This was the right semester for me to have a change from the regular Elon fall and to try something new. For now I am excited to be at home, enjoying a holiday before diving right back in next week.

 

Leave a comment